The Elberta Theatre opened in Brigham City on 12 March 1917, built by W. H. Shurtliffe and W. R. Dredge. A unique feature of the theater was that moviegoers entered the auditorium next to the screen, allowing latecomers to find their way to their seats using the reflected light of the film. An orchestra pit below the screen had room for a piano and up to five other instruments. About 1927, the Elberta was renamed the Capitol Theatre. It is now part of the Walker Cinemas chain.